Out of State Employees

The University of Kansas must withhold state income tax based on the state where the employee is physically located while performing services for KU, which may include locality tax(es). In addition, employees who are working in multiple states may be required to pay taxes in more than one state. In order for the Payroll Office to determine the appropriate state income withholding, the following forms are needed:

You can submit these forms via encrypted email, fax, or by mail to the Payroll Office.

NOTE: Failure to submit the required forms will result in state withholding tax being defaulted to Kansas with a default rate of single with 0 allowances.


Out-of-State Employee Income Tax Withholding Policy

Please view the policy for Out of State Income Tax Withholding for further information, including employee and unit responsibilities.